Pre-evangelism||R.C. Sproul

Posted: June 30, 2014 in Apologetics
Tags: , , , , ,

20140624-062026-22826185.jpgPhoto by James Thompson through a CC Attribution 2.0 License

“Before I can call upon Christ as my Savior, I have to understand that I need a savior. I have to understand that I am a sinner. I have to have some understanding of what sin is.I have to understand that God exists. I have to understand that I am estranged from that God, and that I am exposed to that God’s judgment. I don’t reach out for a savior unless I am first convinced that I need a savior. All of that is pre-evangelism. It is involved in the data or the information that a person has to process with his mind before he can either respond to it in faith or reject it in unbelief.”
—R.C. Sproul (From, Defending Your Faith)

via http://www.thepoachedegg.net/the-poached-egg/2014/03/apologetics-training-is-no-longer-an-option-12-quotes.html?utm_content=buffer8ecc6&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

The Reformers thought of saving faith as being composed of three characteristics:

1) notitia- brute facts of Christ’s saving work
2) assensus- acknowledging these brute facts
3) fiducia-trust in Christ’s saving work

The work of pre-evangelism falls under notitia. Make no mistake, however. If people do not have the knowledge of Christ, or their own need for Him, or have their immediate questions answered, there will be no assensus or fiducia.

simul iustus et peccator,

Eric Adams

Leave a Reply

